APC Forum

What's the deal on lead media?

Swede

As a noob, I am gathering up all sorts of stuff, and one of them is media for a ball mill. I made my first ball-milled small batch of BP using brass disks, and the results were excellent...

http://www.5bears.com/firew/bp020.jpg

But I also bought 1,000 .50 caliber lead balls. I was planning on using them, but I've read several experienced pyros here say the toxicity isn't worth it. I know brass isn't cheap, but lead isn't either, and I probably could have bought enough brass with the $$ I spent on the lead, to do the job.

Thoughts on lead media in general? Am I playing with figurative fire? I KNOW I'm playing with LITERAL fire!! :lol:

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Swede

• tentacles

• FrankRizzo

• TheSidewinder

It is all relevant. In general lead is cheaper than brass as well as easier to obtain. I cast all of my media and lead @ 30cents a pound plus a very low melting point makes it very convenient. Lead media is non-sparking like other metals could be. Your brass could be alloyed with other various metals that could spark, even though its a long shot whereas lead is often alloyed with antimony which is nonsparking as well and acts as a hardener. Don't let me freak you out though, the no-no's of media are steel and marbles ( when it comes to milling things like compositions and BP) and if brass is easily avaliable then by all means use it. Brass has the advantage of being non-toxic as well as having a longer life than lead media.

In my opinion, based on experience and knowledge about the toxic effects of lead, brass is the best non toxic, non sparking milling media you can use. Looks like you milled up a good 200g batch of BP with the brass. From what I have learned you should use different sets of media to mill oxidizers vs fuels and sulfates vs chlorates etc... to reduce chances of spontaneous combustion.