APC Forum

BP rockets simple For beginner simple

gun410

I'm new to rockets I know you press bentonite clay then press BP but instead of using rocket tooling do you think I could drill the the middle out instead and one last question could i use a paper tube that I made thanks

OK!!!

Kid, you are talking my kind of talk! WHOO-HOO!

​Yes, you use clay and there WILL be many that say NO! to my recommendation but as part of my rehab, I have been pounding (not pressing) clay nozzles from precious cat litter, best looking nozzles I have ever made and I have made a LOT of nozzles!

Its crap on small rockets if pressed but is fantastic pounded. It's cheap too, it can be bought online for $17.99 a bag delivered (40 pounds!).

Yes you CAN drill a hole but not with an electric drill, I use a push drill (google it) to open my nozzles to the correct size. Better is to use a nipple and a rammer set. PM me if you need a cheap 1/2" set.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51IXlHjqqKL._SY300_.jpg

I am glad you can get that kitty litter to make a good nozzle when ramming. Big rocket or small, I need to press it. I do agree that once it is well consolidated, it makes great nozzles. If you get it consolidated nicely by pounding it, that is great.

:D Your a funny man Dag, "Nozzle Rehab" :).

I use the cheapest kitty little I could find. I bought a massive bag of the stuff, if I ever finish it I will be very proud of myself. I blend mine up before compacting (food processor, rough blend- it was pretty rocky. It helps with smaller motors.), I have both rammed and pressed to success. I have heard it consolidates better without blending, so don't feel the need. Anyone else read/tested that?

+1 Get dag to make you up some tooling, it will be the best thing you've ever done. He'll look after you. It will ensure you have some nice straight flying motors to get you all excited early in your pyro career :).

Edited by jessoman