APC Forum

Balance of Rocket without a stick?

GG2014

I was wondering if there was anyway to not use a stick for somewhat large bottle rockets. I heard that having a seperate body tube as the rocket itself seperated from the rocket motor is the way to go so I may have a steady and vertical flight. I dont understand why making the motor itself as the rocket does not work. Can anyone confirm the method of making a rocket structure first then adding the motor under it as the way for a balanced flight? I guess it's almost exactly how model rockets work anyway.

im no expert by anymeans and i understand little about the flight of finned rocket motors all i know is it all relates to the balance point of the whole setup and the aerodynamics { im assuming that is the same as a sticked rocket it needs a low centre of gravity and the fins work the same way as the stick in that they have drag when the point of thrust try's to over take the centre of gravity dragging the motor straight again with air resistance }

id love for some one to set my answer straight simply not by just trying to seem smarter than everyone else {is a complex subject but can be described a lot simpler than some people try to make it }

also if anyone has one of the rocket simulator programs or a link to a free download could you point me in the right direction id love to have a play with one of them it might shine some light on the bits i know nothing about

hope this helps GG and someone chimes in who can simplify it all for us both

Thanks for the info! That definitely seems pretty accurate.