APC Forum

Rocket Stuff

TranslucentDragon

So I'm new at this whole thing but, I'm mainly trying to make rocket candy(KNO3 + Sucrose/Glucose/Fructose...etc...etc) but I kinda started to look at some Thermite and Gunpowder(not to make it though) and I've got a couple questions:

• Why is sulfur used in gunpowder to lower ignition temp...
  • Why are only metal oxides used in thermite...
  • What is the purpose of using metal oxides instead of just any old oxidizer...
  • Are there any kinds of common household oxidizers...
  • What are some other good starting explosives and rocket fuels...

The answer to most of your questions is "that's just the way it is". It's how it's defined or how it functions.

Sulfur is used in black powder to lower the ignition temperature because, well that's what it does. It probably has to do with it's relatively low melting point. It also increases the gas production.

If you didn't use metal oxides in thermite, it wouldn't be thermite. Look up the goldschmidt reaction. Without a metal oxide it's something different.

See the last answer.

Yes.

Black powder or R-candy/sugar rockets is really where anyone serious about the hobby starts. If you can't make these simple things, you really have no business trying to make anything more advanced.

• Like 1

Black powder is just charcoal, KNO3, and sulfar, correct?

And, by chance, could you name a couple common household oxidizers?

Do you know what the reaction of a metal without a metal oxidizer is called?

Also, what would you (or anyone who cares to look at this post) recommend on how to make R-Candy, like do you know of a specific process in making it that works particularly well?

Potassium Nitrate is about the only "pyro useful" oxidizer that you can get OTC. It's sold as Stump Remover. You can also find Sulfur if you look around, although that is not an oxidizer.