APC Forum

Smaller Retorts?

warthog

I am a small sort of hobbyist. No reason to make myself production model charcoal maker, though I am envious of oldguy's current project. Something like that would make a lifetime's worth of charcoal for me in one batch I would guess. I am also a bit tired of making a lots of one gallon paint can batches, not only is that more work than it is worth but the cans et expensive as the burn out. I do have an old dutch oven that works nicely but it is too small to make charcoal from pine cones, there isn't enough room in it for them to expand as the dry out with the heat. At least you can't make a decent sized batch of pinecone charcoal with it, you have to make several fillings to get enough for one batch of tiger tail stars. I searched for some small steel drums but I wasn't able to find those, only the 55 gal ones. Just as I was about to give up I found these in a Big Box store. They are 6 gal sized, heavy gauge steel, tight fitting lids and should be able to fit my needs as a charcoal retort in general. My only concern is the steel is galvanized and I thought I had read somewhere this causes a problem of some kind if you want to use it as a charcoal retort or any other situation where you will be heating it up.

So, can anyone tell me if galvanized steel containers do cause some sort of problem as a charcoal retort?

med_gallery_11291_107_2430.jpg

Edited by warthog

i use less than you by the looks of it,

it depends how hot you get it, the only problem i see with galvanized steel for this application [not that it wont make good charcoal] is that the zinc plating/zinc has quite a low melting point and probably wont stand up to many batches before the steel is exposed [ not that that is a problem either unless it gets rusty]