APC Forum

Ball Mill Speed?

ribrown

Hi guys,

I am a veteran of Class C fireworks but a stone cold "Green" newbie to the hobby of making fireworks. I am in the process of building a ball mill. I have all the components needed including the media and have the cabinet built with 2 axles, but can not for the life of me figure out what the proper RPM of my jar should be. My motor came from a rather large Craftsman drill press which I found at a salvage yard for 25 bucks. (1/2 HP 1750 RPM.) I first tried a 2 inch pulley on the motors shaft and a 5 inch pulley on the drive axle. My jar is a slightly larger then 1 gal design modled off of the Sponenburgh design (6in Sch 40 PVC with 8- 1/2" pipe). When I ran the thing empty with these pulleys, I counted a little under 60 turns per minute. So next I tried changing the 5in pulley to a 3in and filled the jar up with 25lbs of 1/2" hardened lead balls. This time when I ran the thing, I got 104 RPMs, which I assume to be too fast. This time when I ran it, I had tighter belt tension then in the first run.

So anyway, I can play with trying out different sized pulleys on my own, but what I can't seem to find after much searching, is the optimal RPM for my set up. I'm not exactly dumb by any means (mabey I am), but the few calculator web pages I've seen I just couldn't understand.

So is there anyway you guys can help me out with figuring out this one problem of figuring out the correct RPMs I should be seeking?

BTW, I got all the ideas for building my machine from information on this fourm and with some advice from Ned G. So I greatly appreciate the advice and direction of everyone on this fourm.

THank You Kindly, Rick Brown

Hope your motor is a TEFC type?

This might help you on RPM.

http://www.benchnote...ycalculator.htm

It differs for everybody as everbody has differing HP & RPM motors, pulley sizes, drive roller diameter, jar diameter & media diameter.

Optimal RPM is 65% of critical speed.