APC Forum

How to roll D1 stars

pyrogeorge

Hi,

I tried to roll d1 stars but the water destroyed the glitter effect..

Any tips for successfull rolling this stars?

Can i replace dextrin with red gum or shellac to use only acetone and to avoid the water?

thanks

Edited by pyrogeorge

I am by no means an expert, but IIRC Ralph once told me that a hydrocarbon binder/ fuel had to be present in order for water to be one of the products of the combustion, this is necessary for the glitter effect to be produced. I'm not 100% sure but I also remember that in Ralph's Glitters he uses gum Arabic as part of the binder in some cases, so you might be able to use that. Don't quote me on this though.

Hi,

I tried to roll d1 stars but the water destroyed the glitter effect..

Any tips for successfull rolling this stars?

Can i replace dextrin with red gum or shellac to use only acetone and to avoid the water?

thanks

Only roll them a few millimeters at a time and dry them fast. My D1 and RG-1 work fine if I get them dry quickly.

-dag

Water produced in combustion has nothing to do with the glitter effect. Plenty of water is produced from the combustion of charcoal anyway. Gum Arabic can be used to bind glitters. Some respond better than others.

What do you mean when you say the effect was "destroyed" by rolling with water. Also, did you force dry them with heat by any chance? Redgum or shellac may kill the effect. I recall people saying that if you want to use a non-aqueous binder that PVB is the way to go.

How were they dried?

It can often be possible to avoid or reduce reactions by drying in a cool, shaded place rather than baking in the sun.

To be sure though, I second Dagabu's advice.

I rolled them to 5mm and put them into a dehydrator and were dry overnight. I also used RO/DI water for them so as to not introduce anything that could upset the comp. 3mm on top of that and 2mm to finish them then BP to taste.

-dag