APC Forum

how much BP kills the whistle of whistle?

californiapyro

I recently acquired a 2 oz rocket tooling set, and am working on lifting 2 inch shells. I have gotten good height out of them with nozzleless BP, but need more thrust. Is it possible to do a pusher core type whistle with a whistle/bp hybrid mix, and if so how much BP is needed to silence the whistle (i'm trying to be quiet, the neighbors don't like noise) your help is appreciated!

thanks,

-Cali

I'm not very experienced with rockets, but I got very powerful ones by using a 3/4" stinger spindle and ordinary BP 75:15:10. The core was bigger than by an endburner but smaller than by a coreburner. The tube was the same length as a coreburner, i.e. 3/4"x10. A stinger uses ordinary BP but also has a side nozzle to make it rotate and to release some gas pressure.

Most "standard" core burners are going to be 7.5" long, not 10". There are a few that deviate from the 10x ID rule of thumb.

It doesn't take a lot to kill the whistle sound. I take it you've heard of Steve LaDuke's hybrid rockets? It's a hot whistle fuel with 10% airfloat charcoal. No sound. Dan Thames heavy lifting fuel is whistle with 5% coarse charcoal, again relatively quiet. These both have specialized spindes and instructions to make them, but if you start with 10% BP you should probably be good as far as sound goes. You can also possibly spice up your BP by adding some percentage of whistle mix if you're going to stick with a nozzless design.

I don't get more then a "chirp" from whistle with any charcoal or BP added.

-dag

That's good to know. I know Steve's fuel doesn't sound much different than a powerful BP rocket. I was unsure if Dan Thames' was because of the fuel or the spindle geometry.