APC Forum

Faster black match.

Bilbobaker

What about adding a small amount of fine dark aluminum powder and boric acid to this black match mix to speed it's burn rate?

http://www.pyroguide...tle=Black_match

Will it work or be unstable?

I'm pretty new at pyrotechnics and full of questions.

Bill

Edited by Bilbobaker

What about adding a small amount of fine dark aluminum powder and boric acid to this black match mix to speed it's burn rate?

Bill

i would say its a waste of good al save it for something else, to a certain degree i think it will slow it down some al is hard to light and if you add al you have an under oxidized fuel. to speed up blackmatch make quick match from it or buy fast fuse it must be cheaper than al some good quickmatches burn 100fps.

dan

Bill

bad Idea it wont speed it up(significantly, infact it is likely to slow it) using high quality meal makes good black match which when in paper becomes lighting fast

black match is meant to be a cheap low cost item having negligible cost adding any expensive chemicals defeats the purpose of it

if your new to pyro you shouldn't even have dark al, if your still asking questions like this your a good year or 2 from the time you should be contemplating making flash

EDIT : dan beet me to the post

Edited by Ralph

Fast BP makes fast black match. Using Balsa sawdust for your BP and optimizing the chems would be the way to go.

Bill

The fastest black match (actually quick match, really...) depends on physics, not chemistry. Rather than a single large powder coated bundle of string, try two or more small bundles of powder coated string in the match pipe. In this case less truly is more.