APC Forum

End burner rocket

THEONE

Because i have tried many many times to make a cored kno3/sugar rocket, and all the time i have CATO, i would like to make a end burner rocket.

My casing is 24mm, can somebody help my about how much must be the length and the nozzle of the rocket ?

Also can i use kno3/sugar or rcandy propellents in case of BP ?

Because i have tried many many times to make a cored kno3/sugar rocket, and all the time i have CATO, i would like to make a end burner rocket.

My casing is 24mm, can somebody help my about how much must be the length and the nozzle of the rocket ?

Also can i use kno3/sugar or rcandy propellents in case of BP ?

while im no expert on rocketry

if your getting cato's the core is too long/wide/nozzle too small /endplug not strong enough/tube, a cato can tell you all of these things,

i read somewhere that the general rule of thumb with bp endburners was a nozzle 1/3 tube id and the plugs 1.5x tube id [this may not be the case with sugar propellants]

you do know 24mm id is a big engine for a beginner

A typical endburner uses a nozzle opening 1/4 the ID and it should be 3/4 the ID in length. The nozzle should have a convergence and divergence of 30% and the clay or nozzle material should (in a perfect world) be even with the spindle (nipple) tip after being pressed.

1/3X ID will get you a gerb or a fountain, it will not create enough thrust to sustain flight.

That said: A typical endburner nipple is too short and (danifications) the 1.5X tube ID recommendation is much closer to what we actually drill out for fusing end burners (nozzle 1X ID and spindle sticks .5X ID into the fuel). So my recommendation is to use a tube 6X the ID (144mm) and a nozzle 6mm wide as well as a nipple that extends into the fuel 6-12mm.