APC Forum

FILLER (inexpensive)

oldguy

Remember, a newbie here. So, I am a little ignorant of various aspects of this fine art. But learning.

My question is, if you wanted to slow down the burn rate of a Barium & Strontium Nitrate, Mg/Al based 12 inch ground flare composition.

What would a good inexpensive filler be?

I may be wrong, but I’m thinking either diatomaceous earth or calcium carbonate.

Just thought I would ask, before I try either.

I realize a “filler” will cut down luminosity to some degree.

Of course, depending on how much is included in the composition.

Hi,

I tried the sawdust method and it worked fine for me. 10%, fine stuff from a sander.

CaCO3 is not a good idea, at least not for a green composition, as it emitts some reddish color itself.

make the flare smaller or shorter that formula I sent you is pretty slow

calcium carb will ruin the oxygen and chlorine balance of a composition

diatomaceous earth would probably work alright

My question is, if you wanted to slow down the burn rate of a Barium & Strontium Nitrate, Mg/Al based 12 inch ground flare composition.

What would a good inexpensive filler be?

I may be wrong, but I'm thinking either diatomaceous earth or calcium carbonate.

Just thought I would ask, before I try either.

I realize a "filler" will cut down luminosity to some degree.

Of course, depending on how much is included in the composition.

I believe the fusee method will work; sawdust and a little mineral oil will slow the burn without greatly diminishing the color output. On another approach, I've added hexamine to color star compositions and besides deepening the color, the burn rate was slowed down (too much for stars but for a flare it may work).

A couple places to start...:)

WSM B)