APC Forum

Ball Mill Motors

pyrokid

Hey Guys

My Harbor freight mill jar has become lopsided so it is time to upgrade a little bit. I am thinking I want to build my own.

My trouble is: there are tons of different manufacturers and brands of motors out there. Which one should I get?

The design I am aiming for is a pully driven system with an idler bar and the capability to switch between 3 and 4 inch jars. I figure, cash is tight, so I can't spend too much on media right now. I have enough for a 3 inch jar but I think a 4 inch would be undercharged.

Are my plans straight so far?

The motor that looks good to me is this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/...=item3a4cf776ce

Additional specifications:

http://www.hallmarki...pdf/MD0502C.pdf

I see motors with seemingly identical specs for 300-800 dollars. What's up? From what I've read,1/4 hp 1750 rpm is about what you need for a 4 inch mill.

Now I am no electrician or woodworker(I can put a rack together and build the frame for the mill though,) so I am asking you more experienced members your opinion on this. The above model is about 70 dollars shipped to my door. I think I could pick up a comparable one at harbor freight for about 110 with a lifetime warranty. I operate on a very low budget, so I am very afraid of throwing my money down the drain on a cheap motor. I understand if this is one of those things that you can't cheap out on.

Would I need lifters in the 3" PVC jar? If so, what are they typically made of? I understand you can increase the rpms a little bit to compensate for not having them.

Is there anything I'm missing?:rolleyes:

Thanks,

Andy

I use a washing machine motor, cost me $10.00 at the local junkyard.

These are a good motor for ball milling, they are designed to operate under load for long periods, sometimes multi speed and reverable to boot!