APC Forum

Willow charcoal

Roadapple

Where is the best place to get willow charcoal.

When people talk about Willow making good BP they are referring to "Black Willow" which grows in the Pacific NW

You should buy some Paulownia charcoal from Al. I plan on getting some as soon as I cover the mortgage and a few other inevitable bills.

Al is probably too well-mannered and modest to shill his own product, but he's been making some shit-hot BP with it.

When people talk about Willow making good BP they are referring to "Black Willow" which grows in the Pacific NW

Though "Black willow" is supposed to be great, I've been making BP for a few years now using several kinds of willow (weeping, peachleaf as well as likely a few other varieties). My "unknown willow" when compared to some alder I obtained showed no difference in performance.

If you just want usable BP for lift and break - consistency is the key...not speed. You can make good BP from SPF (spruce/pine/fir) building lumber that will work for all of your needs.

You should buy some Paulownia charcoal from Al. I plan on getting some as soon as I cover the mortgage and a few other inevitable bills.

Al is probably too well-mannered and modest to shill his own product, but he's been making some shit-hot BP with it.

Aw shucks http://i468.photobucket.com/albums/rr47/Algenco/cartoons/blush.gif

It will be toward the end of the month before I have any available.

I have several orders to fill, my retort burned out, and I can't get much done anymore (except sit on the couch and paste shells:) )

While straight Paulownia charcoal can be too hot for some applications, I don't need to "boost" my shells to get excellent breaks.

I use 5/1 coated rice hulls in 3" cans and 4" balls

I did not know Algenco was making & selling Paulina charcoal.But let me say this.He gave me some to

try & you won't find better charcoal.The fastest charcoal I have made was from Silver maple, then Black

Willow.