APC Forum

14 cue system and capacitor?

jukka

Hello all electricians!

Im stuck on sucking my thump, again and would appreciate some hints.

I build this basic 14 cue system, soldered 75m of some (not labeled) ISP cable with 15 pairs on it.

the aluminium wires are really thin.

Now I have information on my eMatch seller that those matches need 0,4A to light up.

I would have new motorcycle battery, 12V.

But, heres the catch, the resistance is (both ways) 4+4=8 OHM @ temperature +3C

That would give me 8OHM / 0,4A = 20V.

So no change to light up these babys with 12V battery. And what happens to resistance when weather gets colder. Im a afraid then even the 24V battery wont be enough or at least Im not comfortable to build my mini show with these.

Im no electrician expert so only thing that comes to my mind is eather I switch to better cable (after looking my bank roll => I need to get alternative ideas :) ) or use capasitor.

What kind of capasitor? Where in my system I would need to add it? How long takes the reloding between fires? Or is capasitor totally wrong thing for my needs?

Lot of questions and I totally dont have the answers. Please, share the knowledge. :)

-Jukka-

post-10049-128714000815_thumb.jpg

Hello all electricians!

Well, I'm not really an expert.

But my advice to you, is you could make your own matches our of x-mas lights (see he thread in our member TUT's)

As far as using a cap on your device, seems plausible, and it would take no more than 2 seconds for a large cap to recharge, and no more than .1 for a little one. Have you looked in to using a transistor to increase your voltege?

Also, you are going to want to have a continuity test on your device, and it won't cost more than an LED, a 300-500 ohm resistor and a DPST switch.

Check your Ohms Law

E = I R

So you have I and have R therefore E = I R = 0.4 x 8 = 3.2

So a 12v battery properly charged will allow enough current to flow.

Let's add a 2ohm realistic guess for the igniter