APC Forum

Sticks

NightHawkInLight

I'm just sitting here on a rainy day thumbing through my improvised humidor, trying to be patient and save smoking until I'm on the mower tomorrow.

Any of you enjoy a good cigar now and again? I've been smoking once or twice a month for three or four years. That trend seems to pick up every year come fall and the opening of duck/goose season. There's nothing like waiting for birds to fly into your decoys while enjoying a good cigar.

As of this year the change I accumulate in my truck has turned into my cigar fund. I worked my way through most of the Oliva line over the summer, and have a customer who has been very generous in tipping my partner and I with some exotic brands on multiple occasions.

So far my favorites over the summer have been the Oliva O, V, and the Greycliff 1666. JFR maduro's are also a long time favorite. What I'm waiting on for tomorrow will either be a Gurkha micro batch liga vh-7, or a monster of a Hoyo de Monterrey. Either way I'm looking forward to trying both of them.

Anyone else have a few favorites to share?

I am a cheap bastard, I buy the Thompson Dominican Candela Lonsdale Grande. Buck twenty five a stick, mild, long smoke, the wife doesn't puke ;)

I order from JRCigars.com, I like the Cuban counterfeits with a maduro cover and big so it lasts a while, some thing like a 52 x 8.50 EXCALIBUR EMPEROR CIGARS or FUENTE CANONE CIGARS .

I try to order enough to fill the humidor, I like to have two as sometimes you have to age this cigars a year to get good if their real green, but aging makes even the good ones you get, better over time.

I have slowed down since the tax jump, I ordered 60 before the tax went up and just finished them.