APC Forum

Need a wall on fire...photo shoot

aophoto

I am a photographer and had an idea for a shoot. My model will be standing in front of a wall, but the wall will be engulfed in flames. Size wise I was thinking about 8-10ft tall and about 12 ft. wide.

Forgive my ignorance in pyrotechnics, but I'm looking for the best way to do this. What material should the wall be made of? wood, metal, etc. I was figuring a 2x4 studded wall, but not sure what to cover it with. I was sort of thinking diamond plate. I don't really want the structure to burn, just whatever is on it. (ie. gas or whatever) And what sort of substance should be used for the fire. Something that would stick to the wall would be ideal.(I think) The first thing that popped in my head was hand sanitizer. (dumb idea I know) My buddies used to squirt it on their desk at work and that burned pretty good and didn't bunr the desk. But that doens't sound realistic. I don't want this to cost too much. Any ideas? Also has to be safe enough for a model to be standing around 8-12 feet away. Also, it should burn for quite a while.

Thanks in advance!

You could try melting a paraffin in the form of the wall. then while it hardens, stick a bunch of wicks in it. Take shots then blow out the fire before the entire thing melts and the wall catches on fire.

I hope you're not crazy enough to do this indoors. :lol:

I hope you're not crazy enough to do this indoors.  :lol:

why what's wrong with indoors?

j/k! :D I was thinking more of a liquid to cover the diamond plate with that would burn for a lil while.

Could use napalm....that stuff will stick to anything and burns for a long while.

No, thats kind of a Kewl myth.... True napalm contained more than that but that mix might work for your application....

Well I can get you a huge list of formulas for military NAPALM such as,

#1 NAPALM for nonbursting munitions

Gasoline - 90

aluminum soap of coconut - 5

aluminum naphthenate - 5