APC Forum

Gerb/Fountain Issues

Photon_Junkie

Hello all,

While I do not consider myself a beginner to pyro, I am new to making gerbs. As most of you know, the Skylighter newsletter has been running articles on gerbs and set-pieces for the past couple of issues. Personally, I have never had an interest in making these things until just recently I had a chance to create a beautiful waterfall arrangement.

Therefore, I thought I would start at the beginning before trying to make the waterfall type gerbs.

I made these 4 gerbs using a very straight forward Lancaster mixture:

Potassium nitrate - 40

Meal powder - 16

Charcoal, 150 mesh - 8

Sulfur - 8

Iron, 20 mesh - 24

Aluminum, flitter, 10-30 mesh - 4

I have the Skylighter fountain set tooling and the proper tube to match that tubing. I cut the original tubes in half so I could make test fires and not waste an entire 12" length.

I hand-rammed using a rawhide mallet and followed every instruction I could find on forming nozzle mixtures. I used a mixture of bentonite clay and kyanite with 4% paraffin wax.

The link below shows my results. My question is: Why do my fountains loose sparks temporarily then spew forth a large gob of sparks at once? I did place "bumps" at the end of the gerb, so at the very end you should see a burst of sparks. But in the middle of the burn, you see no sparks only a small jet of flame. Then all of a sudden you get an eruption that almost looks like molten lava. I am sure its the iron or dross forming, but why and how do I stop it.

As always, any help is appreciated.

The guest password is 'rocket' (without quotes)

http://s510.photobucket.com/albums/s347/sc...MyFountains.flv