APC Forum

BP, presses, and pucks

Swede

I'm a rank noob with pyro, and am enjoying the journey tremendously so far. This appears to be an exceptionally kind forum - thank you all.

I did execute a search on the topic of pressing BP to improve its qualities, but got a lot of hits, and many were confusing to me.

I produced a nice BP batch recently using the alcohol precipitation method, and it seems fairly brisk. I do have a ball mill, and am going to start using it. I am also exceptionally fortunate to have my own machine shop, so I look forward to making much of my own tooling. This means I can produce things like star pumps, dies, etc to good accuracy, for use in my hydraulic press.

Can someone explain the basics behind BP pressing? I am picturing a female cavity, into which you insert your BP, with perhaps some added dextrin, and a finely fitted male piston. Install the widget into your press, and have at it. Out pops a disk of BP. True?

I am concerned about safety. Is it possible for the BP to ignite under pressure? And if it does, given the circumstances (piston over BP cavity) where would the gas go? It seems a bit scary to me, but I'd like to give it a try.

Thank you all! I look forward to a fun new hobby!

Check this out (=

I asked the same question

http://www.apcforum.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=2395

I don't believe it is a matter of how hard you press it... It boils down to getting the BP Pucks to the right density...

If I am wrong please please someone chime in...

Yes, some very basic testing I did pointed to a density of around 1.7g/mL to be about optimal. It's the time tested standard.

Most dies are a steel or PVC pipe with a good fitting rammer. Some prefer to use a "nipple" of sorts on the bottom so that the BP disk is recessed. By nipple I mean a short disk the diameter of your die. The rammer is generally made from metal, plastic, or wood. Some here have had good results with Ultra high mol weight HDPE.