APC Forum

Core = BOOM

z92

Hi!

I am new to rocketry, and I was told that my rockets need a core to be "very nice". Well, I started out by using some spiral would 1/4" id tubes and created rocket tooling for it - with a 7/10 of the tube's Length spindle.

Boom. both bentonite clay plugs flew out.

I decided I needed thicker plugs.

Boom. Tube blew up, nozzle intact.

I reinforced the tube with very strong tape.. boom, plugs flew out.

I decided to try and make an end burner.

Yay! It flew up in the air! Crazy.

I decided to roll some tubes myself, so I wouldnt have to deal with the weak spiral problem. These are aprox. 3/4" id.

Made one with about 3/4" or 1" clay plug.. but only about 4/10 length core. (Drilled.).

Boom. Both plugs flew out (fire came out of both ends) and the rocket stick was nailed into the ground... oops.

My black powder is not milled - its hand pestled in a mortar/pestle for about 30 - 60 mins.

Nozzle = 1/3 of tube ID.

All the end burners (no core but has a nozzle.) I have made has been flying into the air.

Willow charcoal airfloat + fertilizer KNO3 + Sulphur.

So embarrasing when these explosions happen infront of your family.

:mellow:

Oh heres a video of a 3/4" id rocket (often refered to as an "m80" tube) that I made. Endburner:

My dad was recording, but he only got the start of it.. it flew very high. :)

Oh may I add.. I am using the formula recommended for gunpowder (74:14:12 I think). But making a weaker formula just to have a core seems immensively stupid to me? Why not just make an endburner, then?

The most likely reason is that you haven't compacted the powder enough, either from using too-big increments or not compacting each one enough.

In anser to your question, straight "normal" BP actually IS too "hot" for many coreburners. Try 70-20-10, or 65-25-10. It's what a lot of BP rocketeers use.