APC Forum

Good tutorials

they call me 9 fingers

Ok i am a total noob, well not total I am just new to the legitimate hoby of blowing things up known as amateur pyrotechnics :lol: I dont think a estis rocket engin and a gallon of gas count (younger and dumber days) All these years of blowing things up and i didnt know that such a wonderful legit hoby existed! So I have been doing some searching around for good tutorials, I found some on youtube and a few random one's but not alot. Does anyone have any good links to some tutorials? If anyone has found anything good let me know that would be great. Also would a coffe grinder make a ok sub for a ball mill? I know flash and what not would be a BIG no no but what about black powder, will I be able to get good enought qulity to do anything interesting? Will I be able to get it to Airfloat grade? And one last thing than I will shut up for now, anyone have a source for pyro quality charcol that isnt expensive, skylighter just seems a little pricy. sorry this is all in one thread if I am wrong let me know and I will change it.

EDIT: disregard the coffe grinder question I actually thought it through to much potential for sparks

passfire.com

40$ for a subscription,

THE BEST INVESTMENT for a beginner, or one of the best.

The previous two replies sum it up well: Get a subscription to Passfire. It was one of the very first things I did, and never regretted it.

The wealth of info that can be found there is unmatched by any other site *I've* ever seen, anyway.

And given that you've said you are really new to pyro, take everyone's advice here, and start SMALL and SIMPLE, then work up:

Smoke devices, Fountains, and Mines. Then try small shells. Then larger ones.

And since you mentioned the "F" word....

please don't make the mistake that I see so many newbies make:

FLASH IS NOT FOR BEGINNERS! STAY AWAY FROM FLASH UNTIL YOU HAVE MUCH MORE EXPERIENCE!