APC Forum

basic firing system diagram

ST1DinOH

for anyone interested in building thier own firing system i've made a basic diagram of one for everyone to use.

this first one is a basic 48 cue (uses a 14 conduit cable from the buttons to the slat).

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/4605/completesystemsmallnp0.jpg

this second diagram is how to add LED's and continuity to the button side of things. notice the use of the SPDT switches to isolate the LED runs. this one is a 16 cue setup (4x4) using a 8 conduit cable.

http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/9708/pannelwcontinuityiy9.jpg

now i'm no electrical engineer so i have no clue what the proper/universal way to label or draw certian parts/components and thier representations...but seing as how most of thoes who want to build one won't either...it's probably better i don't know the right way.

if anyone sees a way to simplify this or change it for the better speak up.

especially if anyone see's a crucial error in the setup...let me know ASAP and i'll make it right.

• 3 weeks later...

Believe it or not, but I have NEVER thought of using that cross-switched mechanism! Its brilliant!

Imagine, 30 high-current switches for a nice new-years eve show, or 5 + 6 = 11 switches for the same thing.. Saves bucks, saves space. Damn I really like it.

Believe it or not, but I have NEVER thought of using that cross-switched mechanism! Its brilliant!

Imagine, 30 high-current switches for a nice new-years eve show, or 5 + 6 = 11 switches for the same thing.. Saves bucks, saves space. Damn I really like it.

yeah the nice thing about the selectable ground is it allows you to fire off seperate banks one at a time, or multiple banks at once...

lets say you have a 4x4 box

4 push buttons, 4 on off switches for the grounds

you'd need a 8 conduit cable to connect the firing pannel to the slats, and with 8 wires (4 hot, 4 ground) you've got a 16 cue system made from a 8 conduit cable...

so that gives you 4 banks of 4