APC Forum

acetone

alibaba

hi, newbie here wants to ask a question:

i wanted to know what would happen if i have an enclosed plastic canister (bottle/tube) 40 % full of pure acetone. what would be the effect if i dip this tube in halfway in warm water with temerature56 C( 56 C - as much as acetonels boiling point):

which of the following will occur:

1. the acetone will boil and vaporise to the upper part of the tube where it it cooler?

2. the boiling acetone will build up alot of pressure and blow open my bottle?

3. something else?

this is for a project which i intend to make but i wanted to ask those chemists out there who are familiar before i do something stupid?

thank you in advance

1: I sure wouldn't do that.

2: It would most likely condense at the cooler top of the bottle *IF* your bottle is strong enough to contain the pressure.

3: This doesn't deserve its own thread by any account. A post in the random thread would have been the best bet. But we will leave this topic open for a few days.

Don't open anymore topics that don't need to be started.

I don't think it sounds like a very good idea. I'm betting you're going to get acetone and broken glass all over.

If you are trying to make one of those little bubbling liquid filled tubes like you see on some Christmas lights, try methylene chloride.

This thread also looks just like the one you started in newbie questions, except you asked about methylene chloride instead of acetone. One thread asking the question about two substances would suffice.

While this is still open:

No it would not explode, unless the vessel is extremely weak. At 56C the vapour pressure is equal to the atmospheric pressure. If the top is cooler, it will condense there. If not, it will build perhaps 1PSI internally.