APC Forum

Basic colored stars

shuggins

Hey all, newbie here.  I am looking to create some basic colored stars with a small number of chemicals.  Basically, do you have recommendations for okay colors with only 3-5 ingredients each?  For example I have strontium carbonate and nitrate, potassium chlorate, dextrin, sulfur, charcoal and potassium nitrate.  Can I make an okay red with that?  I also have barium carbonate and sodium nitrate.  Can I substitute dextrin for red gum or shellac?  Just some tips on how to use what I have till I want better colors.

Also, any suggestions for what to look for when testing out the color?  Is the only valid test at night, or is there a good way to test during light hours?  Before I create 50 stars and put it in a shell, I would like to know it works okay.  😁

Thanks for the suggestions.

U need some more like MgAl alloys powder, parlon, barium nitrate and not to use potassium chlorate. Red gum and shellac are same working in composition.In Water bass composition use dextrin- substitute according composition. 

Just like you are having oxidzers you must need fuels.

Colour star may need 

Oxidizer, fuel, chlorine donor ,binder these are basic material you must have in hands.

Magnelium works as a great fuel in case of metallic star for organic star you may need red gum or shellac as a fuel.

Sometimes metallic plus organic fuels are used together for ease of ignition plus colour intensity.

Look up Lancaster green #2. I believe you have the necessary ingredients

Thanks for the input guys.  I know I need more.  But here is a list of what I have today:

Potassium nitrate

Strontium nitrate

Sodium nitrate

Potassium chlorate

Strontium carbonate

Barium carbonate

Sulfur

Black Willow Charcoal (homemade)

Aluminum various meshes

Potassium Chloride

Sodium hydroxide

Copper sulfate

Dextrin

Sulfuric acid

Nitric acid

That's about everything that I have.

I will be ordering:

Red gum, Parlon, Shellac and Magnalium.