APC Forum

4th of July Shells & My Attempt at "Mass" Shell Assembly

cmjlab

I posted these on fireworking.com already, but figured I'd share them here too. I was surprised that there hasn't been a bunch posted from people's 4th of July building endeavors!

Some context real quick - I'm a newbie and have built a few shells here and there, mainly attempting to emulate ones I've seen and liked. However, I wanted to see what it was like to build all my own shells for the 4th this year (approximately 100), all "Italian/American styled" cylinder shells via traditional methods (per Fulcanelli Articles), and how much time/materials it would take.

All shells were 3", all followed traditional build style (except misc. few test ball shells)

Video of Process:

Videos of Some of the Shells:

What I learned:

1. Make more B.P., approx. 25 lbs was not enough and I ended up using pulverone and MCRH for lift on last few shells.

2. Need more than 3 weeks to make that many cylinder shells, or another worker! My fingers hurt from spiking shell after shell (respect for those that make a living at this!)

3. I did not need to use 7% of shell weight for lift, would have been fine at 1 oz / pound. (Also would have more B.P. left over)

4. Make more of everything ahead of time. Ran out of match pipes and had to have wife help roll pipes.

5. I need to tighten up spiking a bit, as some shells burst bowtie, and a couple side split.

-Charles

Could have saved quite a bit of weight on the bottoms... gads, what is that- 3/8” walled tube? Thunder 3 would pop just fine in a toilet paper roll tube :D

3 weeks is tight. Especially if you have a real job :D I build ‘em all year long. Already got a couple started for next 4th :)

Nice work tho... and ya learnt!

Which tube? The bottom shots cores? They are just commercial bottom shots cores. I have not attempted to use Fulcanelli hand-rolled bottom shots yet. I will work towards that this year.