APC Forum

Mortars

Mardec

Hey, I recently upgraded to making 4" shells :lol:

But now I face new problems. For 3" a cardboard tube with heavy dute PU glue and beam of would to glue it to would work fine. This is not really plugging but it works.

But now I have a 4" hdpe tube wich I cannot glue to a wooden beam. That will deffinately not hold. I cannot plug it either because I have nog matching plug.

So I am going to dig it in. But in order to do that. Should I still plug the tube or can I just dig it in there with the bottom side "open".

I have no experience with digging mortars in..

Sorry if this has been coverd, but searching the forum did not result in finding what I wanted to know.

Yes, still plug the mortar. If you don't the lift gases will expand the ground underneath the mortar and not lift as high. At a show I was shooting I saw a 6" shell blow the bottom off a mortar that was dug in. It went maybe 1/3 as high and apparantly left a big hole in the ground underneath. I also used to use a cardboard tube in a bucket of clay for firing, no bottom. I've had shell shoot out a bunch of clay from the power of the lift. I now use good HDPE mortars though.

You'll want to bury the mortar about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way down into the ground. A post hole diger or an auger really expedites the process.

If you have access to a good selection of carpentry tools, a holesaw can be used to make great wooden base plugs. The holesaw I'm describing is essentially a drill bit with a serrated ring of metal around the perimeter which cuts into the face of a block of wood. They come in many sizes. The circle of wood they they cut out is normally discarded, but in my case it's saved and glued into the base of the mortar. Some additional sanding may be required to make it fit. I find this a hell of a lot easier than trying to free-hand a circular plug on the scrollsaw.