APC Forum

how do you make tpa flash powder

lobowarxl

hello im looking on how to make tpa flash powder i remember seeing a youtube video on it but i cant find it, if you know how to make it please respond , does it work for small salutes as well as large salutes? im trying to use it for for 3 gram salute inserts in a multi salute shell

The only formula I found is as follows;

Potassium perchlorate 71%

Aluminum- dark flake. 17%

TPA. 12%

I've not made any flash but this is from a reputable source (FW)

Comments state it merely burns if unconfined and requires slightly more containment than other flash comps. Sounds safer.

Lobo, the search function is your friend.

http://www.amateurpyro.com/forums/topic/11003-tpa-burster-compound/

OM, that formulation will work, but there are many ratios that will work properly. You can 'tune' TPA flash quite a bit.

Kevin

Thanks, I have yet to make any but I'm studying up. This thread was the first time I'd heard of TPA so I had to look it up.

By tuning it do you mean like adding something like iron oxide etc.?

You can vary the sensitivity, light output, and to some degree the tone of the report by varying the ratio of TPA to aluminum. There are versions that use no aluminum at all...

Kevin

I settled on 70/15/15, gently screened. It is easy to remember and works fine for my needs.

I too use 70-15-15, but only for bottom shots. Nate, have you used it in inserts with timefuse? I ask because I assume it is less flame sensitive than the 71-17-12.

Honestly, I stopped using TPA flash in inserts, but I do still like it for bottom shots. I never had ignition problems, but the timing wasn't quite as crisp as I like.

WB

Edited by WonderBoy

WB, I have not tried it for small cap plug sized insert reports. I don't know how well it works with 1 gram at a time.