APC Forum

Star Press

Bcorso85

Hey Guys,

A while back I bought a 10 ton hydraulic press from Harbor Frieght. I'd like to convert it over to air operated, pneumatic, from manual.

What do I need to buy? Something affordable. Any suggestions? The purpose would be mostly star and comet plates.

Or is this even necessary? I've never used a press before so I'm in the dark pretty much. Is hand cranking the pump acceptable for a star plate?

You will need a pressure to force gauge to monitor how much pressure you are applying to your tooling and comps. You will also need to decide if and how you will modify the hydraulic press to accept a standard hydraulic cylinder to work with the air operated pneumatic assist system. Most of the harbor freight presses use a bottle jack ram, which will require some sort of adapter plate to hold the conventional hydraulic cylinder. The harbor freight presses also need to be stiffened up with cross bracing or weld the corner with braces to keep the press square. If you can grab the press by frame and wiggle it back and forth you will see how much play is in the frame. This can cause problems while pressing rocket motors and comets and stars when the top and bottoms don't align properly. These presses come in handy for plenty of small