APC Forum

Flash powder burns slow

lobowarxl

Hello im a beginner at making flash powder so Im trying to make 70/30 mix with perc 325 mesh with anit caking and 5431h eckart from here ... http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-5oz-Eckart-5413H-Aluminum-Powder-German-Blackhead-Dark-Ekhart-5413-Super-/111689472416?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1a013619a0

Ive done 3 g max and capped it all it does is burns very slowly like for a couple of seconds like an upside down rocket idk what im doing wrong are you suppose to mix for a long time? is it suppose to be confined really good? or maybe its the wrong aluminum?

I also bought the same 5413h from the same seller. No matter what I've tried I can't get anything more than a slow burn at best. I know my KClO4 is good, it works fine in all other applications. I finally just pitched the rest of the aluminum and gave up after trying 6 ten gram batches. Guess we got ripped off.
  • Like 1

I have the similar or the same eckart 5143. I tried it with KNO3, it makes a woosh and with Chlorate it makes a poof. No thump though. To be honest with you Indian Dark or German Dark would be your best bet.
  • Like 1

BillyBobBodean, on 15 Jun 2015 - 4:42 PM, said:

I also bought the same 5413h from the same seller. No matter what I've tried I can't get anything more than a slow burn at best. I know my KClO4 is good, it works fine in all other applications. I finally just pitched the rest of the aluminum and gave up after trying 6 ten gram batches. Guess we got ripped off.

pfff thanks

I have the similar or the same eckart 5143. I tried it with KNO3, it makes a woosh and with Chlorate it makes a poof. No thump though. To be honest with you Indian Dark or German Dark would be your best bet.

yeah ill try that

• Like 1

BillyBobBodean, on 15 Jun 2015 - 4:42 PM, said:

pfff thanks

yeah ill try that