APC Forum

Making a ball of fire

Involute

Newbie here. I'd like to ignite a stuffed animal (plush toy) and have it go up in a rapid ball of fire (faster than if I just doused it with kerosene, but not an explosion). I'll be setting it off with model rocket motor igniters, outside and from a safe distance. Can someone give me some tips for how to prepare the toy? Or, if you're in Los Angeles and want to make a few bucks, do it for me? Thanks for your help.

LOL... the picture in my head of this happening... is cracking me up! :) I am curious but what is this for? Are you doing it just for fun by yourself? Or some kind of presentation? Most of what we do on this forum deals with pyrotechnic compositions that are precisely mixed with a long list of chemicals, oxidizers, metals, colorants, etc...usually for fireworks. If I wanted to burn a plush toy in the manner you are describing, I would probably soak it with a little gasoline and ignite it from a SAFE distance. :) Sounds fun! Be careful, gasoline can be very dangerous, mainly because of the fumes.

Or take out all the stuffing and fill it with 70:30. Oh wait, no explosions. Drat.

I think thermite could give the effect you're looking for, just so long as you don't care about what the toy is sitting on.

The KNO3 sounds about right to me. But the toy needs to be made atleast in part out of cotton.

Edited by Stef727

You can find plush toys made out of cotton, but most are going to be made out of polyester or some other synthetic fiber. What would happen in that case? Also, what would I use for the KNO3 solution, and what proportions? Thanks.

I am curious but what is this for? Are you doing it just for fun by yourself? Or some kind of presentation?

A presentation, but it's a long story.

In my experience, cotton soaked in KNO3 doesn't burn with a flame, just smoke. You could easily remove the stuffing and replace it with cotton balls soaked in a KNO3 solution if you wanted to go that route.