APC Forum

I am coming to America

taiwanluthiers

My immigration visa just got approved. I will come beginning of December or around that time.

I have not decided where to go but initially I'll be in California.

Anyone around there?

As my name suggests, I am in California ;)

I think I will start with rocketry.. I am staying away from firearms until I eventually become a US citizen. I don't need another reason to get kicked out again.

long story. My parents brought me to the US when I was young and I had no idea what visa I was under or whatever. I grew up in the US going through school and all that, and believed I was a permanent resident or something like that. One day I woke up finding Federal agents at my door, no idea why they were there at the time. Seemed someone said something and the government looked at my records, which revealed that I was in the US on a tourist visa that had long since expired. So I got arrested, charged/convicted of having a gun (I had a few guns for sporting use) as an illegal alien, given a short sentence and kicked out.

Ok, how the heck was it able to sign you for school wothout having the right visa? How long you've been i the us with a tourist visa, 10 years?

I have no idea, parents did all the stuff so really the fault lies with them (primarily my mother actually). I suspect that it was because schools don't ask questions or something. I'm sure they are more careful these days. It was all out of my control really and I'm really glad that for once consular officials agree.