APC Forum

My first rocket fail

MrP

Hello everyone. I am a complete newbie, so please take it easy. Pyrotechnics is something iv always wanted to get into, iv made a few smoke bombs with kno3 when I was younger but that was as far as it went. Until recently iv decided to give it a go. Iv bought a 1/2" rocket tool set. And my first attempt in making a rocket was terrible. After lighting the fuse waiting for it to take off instead it decided to explode. I used 75/15/10 ratio and maybe I should of used 60/30/10?

Thanks P

Lots of variables that could lead to a CATO, what tool set do you have, what are you using to press/pound your rockets, what kind/type of fuse are you using and what tubes are you using?

I just used the rammers that is set came with and pounding with a mallet. 2mm visco and the tubes where from oliverbrowns. If I compact the tube to much would this make it explode rather than it taking off?

If I compact the tube to much would this make it explode rather than it taking off?

Not really. No. It's the other way around, most likely. If you se a slight bulge in the tube, a hint that something is growing inside it, thats ok, but at that point you need to start to look for tube supports to get away with compacting it higher.

Seams contradict one and other i suppose... It's like this. Unless you make the tube rupture by hammering in more stuff, it's only going o be better if you compact it more. when the tube starts to break, you need a support to keep it intact, but you can increase the pressure pretty much indefinitely. There isn't much point after consolidating the BP to one solid grain, it's voids and cracks that makes you CATO most the time. The alternative is to long spindle, in combination with to hot fuel. Where did you get the tooling, and what was the details of your BP composition?

B!