APC Forum

Extracting Ascorbic acid from Vitamin c tablets

Milyan720

I need ascorbic acid for some golden powder that I want to make, I have some 500 vitamin c tablets. Each tablet has 300 mg of ascorbic acid and 200mg of sodium ascorbate, the total weight of the tablet ranges from 1.00 - 1.08 grams. How would I extract it. If the process is too expensive then is there a way to synthesise it.

..... I'm a noob and this topic may be rubbish to some people

..... I'm a noob and this topic may be rubbish to some people

Well there you are right!

1. What ndo you want with gp? There is no real applieance for it in pyro

2. Seperating them will be quite hard

3. As you mentioned ascorbic acid is Vitamin C, just buy the 100% pure powder from you next supermarket.

Im using it as an alternative to bp/flash powder

I don't mind if it's difficult, I want to explore the science

I live in Australia and I doubt they have 100% pure, but I might have a look.

Food grade will be expensive but pharmaceutical grade will be even more expensive Keep looking in the shops

Extracting it depends on what else is in the tablets.

Most members will be more willing to help you if you show you're putting in even the smallest amount of research or thinking, instead of just asking to be spoonfed answers or solutions.

• Like 2

The rest is binder

I might try making the stuff with nakkas guide to crimson powder

I'll try posting some pictures of the tablets and the ingredients

Edited by Milyan720
  • Like 1

Sure that your tabletts contain 200mg of binder? That would be quite a lot. The one i get at the local supermarket contain sodium carbonat

Sodium ascorbate is also vitamin c , the other 500mg might be filler abd binder

Milyan720, Are you still hanging noodles on our ears?! Extracting Ascorbic acid from vitamin C tablets is a trivial matter. But extracting Potassium Nitrate from bat guano...that is a worthy endeavor. It is difficult to get the bats to hold still enough, though.