APC Forum

Sulphur from eggs !?

Milyan720

Is it possible to extract sulphur from eggs?

If possible can someone tell me.

I can buy the sulphur but I would really like to explore the chemistry :)

... I'm a noob

I searched up "where to get Sulphur" and someone said eggs. Just straight up said "eggs" noting else. Eggs should have Sulphur , rotten eggs smell smelly because the molecule that you smell contains a Sulphur atom.

i'm really sorry but PMSL, I know your asking a serious question and if you serch for sulfur in google it will tell you every thing you neef to know. if you want to purchace some look on ebay or chemical/garden suppliers that are around where you live or on-line.

If you would like some more help if you say where your from i.e UK, USA, AUS... ect you might get some help from members in that area.

the CAS number for Sulfur is 7704-34-9 found on the wiki if that helps :)

Kilnj69

A raw egg contains about 180 milligrams of Sulfur per 100 grams. I know of no way to extract it from eggs and it would not be economical if you could.

Milyan720,

Saw your other post about obtaining carbon from battery electrodes. Since money is of no concern, you might be more efficient using Beluga caviar as both your sulphur and your carbon source. Charred Beluga makes a really fast charcoal, I would think.

Milyan720,

Saw your other post about obtaining carbon from battery electrodes. Since money is of no concern, you might be more efficient using Beluga caviar as both your sulphur and your carbon source. Charred Beluga makes a really fast charcoal, I would think.

Perhaps but it is very low sparking... Perhaps Sevruga makes better sparks? :P

Thanks for the replies

I might just buy Sulphur

If an egg only contains 180 g per 100gm there's no point of extracting it

I live in Australia, there a hardware store that sells Sulphur but I dont know how good it is