APC Forum

Elemental carbon vs Charcoal

Milyan720

I was wondering if I could use carbon anodes from "heavy duty" batteries to make black powder by crushing them and dissolving soluble matter, I don't plan on making large quantities, I have access to balsa wood but I was wondering whats the difference between Carbon and Charcoal and if I can effect the quality of black powder.

Should I use balsa or carbon

.... I'm kinda a noob

I'd use the balsa if you have it, but your best bet would be to find some (cheaper) more readily available timber arounnd where you live, The carbon anodes found in batterys of the 6 volt kind are a mixture of carbon (a small amount) and graphite. i'm not an expert but as other threads on here have pointed out, elemental carbon (lampblack) is not very good at making a serviceable black powder.

Find some light pine pallets or light timber for building/construction, cook it in a retort and use that for starters. that's what I started with and have had very good results. good luck :)

Kilnj69

I was wondering if I could use carbon anodes from "heavy duty" batteries to make black powder by crushing them and dissolving soluble matter, I don't plan on making large quantities, I have access to balsa wood but I was wondering whats the difference between Carbon and Charcoal and if I can effect the quality of black powder.

Should I use balsa or carbon

.... I'm kinda a noob

PM me please, I have a book that I want to send you, it will answer a lot of your questions and help you in your journey. The questions you are asking are easily answered with a simple Google search and it does appear that you are baiting us in a way with your questions about sulfur from eggs and using the carbon from dry cell battery cores (don't do that).

Serviceable charcoal can be had from nearly any large store that carries lump hard wood charcoal. Is it fast and reactive? No, but it will work and is a LOT cheaper than carbon of any other kind.