APC Forum

Green Mix for priming

Sparx88

Screen mixed BP, 75/25/10. Add your choice of binder or use dextrin liquor.

ok i'm a noob, 75/25/10 not troling, i've just never heard of that. i'm sure your right nater but did you mean 75/15/10 (adds to 100) or 68.18/22.72/9.09 (adds up to 99.99). I promise i'm not being anal it's just the comps usually (not allways) add to 100 or 100 +5% i.e dextrin ect. :)

Kilnj69

ok i'm a noob, 75/25/10 not troling, i've just never heard of that. i'm sure your right nater but did you mean 75/15/10 (adds to 100) or 68.18/22.72/9.09 (adds up to 99.99). I promise i'm not being anal it's just the comps usually (not allways) add to 100 or 100 +5% i.e dextrin ect. :)

Kilnj69

Kiln,

A lot of the time we speak about comps in the terms of "parts" and that does not mean they necessarily add up to 100%, it may be more, it may be less depending on the person writing it. This is normal and not in violation of ADD rules. :P

Take for example my comp (recipe) for rocket delay, 75 KN03, 15 charcoal, 10 Sulfur, 6 titanium flakes, 1 dextrin. 107%

kilnj69 is correct though. I suspect there was a typo. 75/15/10 are the correct proportions.

So "green mix" is just BP? I was thinking it was something with barium nitrate or is a green star comp.

Also known as scratch mix or screen mix. Can be referred to with any comp, but unless specified I would take it as standard 75/15/10-- BP. As Mumbles and kilnj69 said. Unless nater ups the charcoal to heat/slag it up more.

Just the 'green stuff'... Like an unripe banana :)

The benefits of it are, slow burning and slaggy. So it ignites things better than meal. I have primed dragon eggs in the past with green and it works fine. When I used meal it just burnt off leaving a perfectly formed egg :P. Actually a lot of people prime with it. I don't, but it's only out if habit and what primes I use work.