APC Forum

Pasting methods

enanthate

Hey guys,

"New" to this forum! Been reading around for quite a while, before creating an account to access files and the chat-room.

As I'm quite new to the hobby (4x 3" shells fired), I don't have enough experience to tell whether my pasting is decent or poor. I don't even have a stable pasting-technique for my shells yet, I just kind of paste it. A bit messy, but it works.

I started with the 3-strip method on my first shell (3"), and half-way through the process I thought to myself what the h*** have I gotten myself into. That's when I got lazy and used the same pasting-method as the pasting machines use. This has worked quite nicely judging by the feedback I've gotten on my videos, and is way faster.

So my question is, what pasting-technique do you use? What techniques are there? I've seen different ones on Youtube, but never found any "easy" ones. I've also seen threads here and on other forums, I'm aware of the fact that you DO need to paste your shells, and that it IS alot of work. Doesn't mean we can't make it easier, and improve our methods, right?

As for my method, I suspect it is a bit weaker than the 3-strip-method and perhaps creates a bit in/unsymmetrical break? Anyhow, it seems to be much quicker and easier, so I've settled with this one for now. Curious about your techniques, please share your experiences and/or ideas!

-K

*Posted this in the "newbie questions" since it's my first question, and I feel it belongs here. Please move to the correct section if any.*

Edited by enanthate

I'd love to see some of your videos of the burst and of your method of pasting. I'm new here too so I want to see how other people do it.

I use the 3 strip method when I make ball shells, but I prefer spiking to pasting strips and make more cylinder shells. I have not been able to get the hang of taping shells with one strip like the WASP. I always end up with egg shaped shells.