APC Forum

Why did my flash powder burn so slowly?

DjGopher

Hello!

So, I've been playing around with flash powders for a few years now. Nothing major—I'll just get bored once in a while and set something off.

Recently I decided to order a few extra chemicals to toy with. Among those were sulfur, and the not-so-popular copper nitrate (II).

Today I decided to follow Shimizu's Flash #11, which calls for 64% KClO4, 23% Al, 13% S.

Shimizo advertises this as being the loudest possible report for Al/KClO4/S mixtures.

In addition, I added about .27 grams of Cu(NO3)2 to the 20 gram mixture, hoping for some minor green lighting.

However, there was no bang. The cap (tin), which is typically broken into pieces from a normal 7:3 mix of perchlorate and aluminum, didn't even fracture. Instead it glowed a bright yellow-orange for several seconds.

Other info:

My aluminum is German Dark, and has never given me problems before.

The tin blasting cap was about 5 grams of comp away from being completely full. (not completely confined)

So my question is this: Why did it deflagrate so slowly? Was there really enough Copper Nitrate (~1.33%) to do anything? Was there too much sulfur or not enough perchlorate? (etc)

Thanks!

Dj

You need a control to compare it with, did you perform it without the Copper Nitrate? Edited by LambentPyro