APC Forum

Newbie that needs help!

JDawgBailz

Hello everyone,

I am new at the whole firework thing. I have been watching a ton of videos online about making them. Today I ordered tubes, shells, fuse, caps, Kraft tape, and some other things. Spent $80. I am gonna buy my black powder locally to eliminate pricy shipping costs. I do however have some questions...

For the last 2 hours I have but cutting the heads off of matches to use in the shells. I have been told this makes an effect. What effect does it make if it even works?

How much powder should I put in the tube for the lift-off? (Tube size is 9/16 in. inside diameter, 1 1/2 in. long.)

How much powder should I put in the shell? They are 7/8 in. shells? (I think?)

Will any black powder work, or what kind should I get?

I am wanting to make different effects in the "report", how do I do this and what makes what?

Also anything else would be greatly appriciated!

Thanks for the help in advance!

first,

Matches don't make an effect from all my years in pyro i haven't heard of anyone using matches , try using stars if you can.

second,

its called the "lift", and its usually 1/10th the weight of the shell

3rd,

its all on you taste in shells ,

4th,

No! not any BP will work from the store where they sell guns , don't use smokeless powder , pyrodex , or any other type other than real BP.

This is real BP http://www.powderinc.com/cgi-bin/bpstore/perlshop.cgi?ACTION=thispage&thispage=order.htm&ORDER_ID=440527451 , you will need FFg.

Making Black powder is a cheap better method. i would advise saving and buying a ball mill and the chems for making BP

5tth,

making different effects will require chemicals , i would recommend you buy the basic BP chems, (potassium nitrate, charcoal , and sulfur ) Please if you buy any other chemicals to look at the MSDS sheet , some of the chemicals used in fireworks will kill you, or harm your health ( you will end up with health like mine)