APC Forum

Looking for more info on BCDMH-esque chems

AzoMittle

I'm looking to test 3 different chemicals as both oxidizing agents and chlorine donors. I've found MSDS's for them however none are very detailed and in a few places they are actually contradictory. Beyond that there is next to no relevant information I've been able to dig up. I'm willing to do my own experiments with them however I am not a professional chemist and will most likely overlook either a technical or--more importantly--safety aspect.

The chemicals are:

1,3-Dichloro-5,5-dimethylhydantoin (http://www.chemicalb...N_CB3103672.htm)

1-Bromo-3-chloro-5,5-dimethylhydantoin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BCDMH)

1,3-Dichloro-5-ethyl-5-methylhydantoin (http://www.chemicalb...N_CB7845356.htm)

Thank you one and all, any and all information is gladly welcomed

edit: formatting

Edited by AzoMittle

The breakdown of BCDMH into Hypobromous Acid and Hypochlorous Acid upon contact with water has me particularly worried.

From wikipedia:

The initial BCDMH reacts with water (R = Dimethylhydantoin): BrClR + 2 H2O → HOBr + HOCl + RH2

Hypobromous acid partially dissociates in water: HOBr → H+ + OBr-

Hypobromous acid oxidizes the substrate, itself being reduced to bromide: HOBr + Live pathogens → Br- + Dead pathogens

The bromide ions are oxidized with the hypochlorous acid that was formed from the initial BCDMH: Br- + HOCl → HOBr + Cl-

This produces more hypobromous acid. However, the hypochlorous acid itself does act directly as a disinfectant in the process.

Potassium Chlorate is oxidiser and chlorine donor and probably a LOT cheaper. There are familiar recipes available for use or development. The oxidiser usually comes to about 70% of the compound so it needs to be cheap.

Hahaha yes I'm well aware of (per)chlorates/nitrates but I'm trying to find other things, the whole point is to break away from the "familiar recipes" and discover something new and novel