APC Forum

milling small pieces of metal for inlay

duckkisser

ok first off this has nothing to do with fireworks or making things go boom. but since many of you use ball mills i thought i would reach out to you folks who might be able to help me. I am a wood shop teachers aid by trade but i love to make bowl, boxes, jewlery ect..... and i like adding inlay to my projects. for those of you that dont know what inlay is its when you take a different medium then the board your working with and make it part of the board to create pictures or patterns. you can use crushed stone, glass, plastics, wood dust, wood veneer, sand, anything you want to. usualy you start with larger stone super glue it in and wait for it to dry. you then need to use fine powders of the same material to fill in the gaps that were left behind that are too small for your large stones. What i want to work with is metal inlay i can buy the metal i need in powder form easily the problem is i need small granular pieces in the range of 1/16-2/16. I have been trying to figure out how i can make this material without spending days and days cuting up metal. i made 6 oz in 6 hours at home with a coffee grinder that i usualy use for wood. i ended up burning up the motor and it still took me 6 hours. so after some research i found out aluminum and copper ore is often ground up in a ball mill. so now i have the thought to build a ball mill to process the metal. but i dont know how long that will take for example i have access to all the swarf i need but will it work to break up the metal into small pieces? if it does how long am i looking at? couple of the member said that a rock tumbler that i can buy like harbor freights rock tumbler wont work too small and rubber barrel wont break metal down well. i want to do large projects like tables and benches in the past i have always just done turnings or small boxes. but to do larger projects i need more materials. so i had thought to make a rock tumbler that could