APC Forum

50 Gauge match head trouble

ChloRure

I was tired of trying to solder nichrome wire, so I decided to buy some ODA 50g match heads. I followed the dark flash (50/50 kclo3/antimony) formula, about 1/16 dip.

Problem is that they just blow when I put voltage on them, they never catch fire. They work if I use 1 AA battery, but I built my systeme with 12V.

I use a 12V 1,2a battery with 100feets wire and they blow, but if I try homemade ematch with 40g nichrome, it work without any trouble, I can even apply voltage for 2-3 secondes (nichrome get red hot) before it breaks.

Any idea to get those work with 12v ?

I'm no expert on this stuff really, but it sounds like when you're using the 50g heads with the 12v system you're vaporizing the wire with all of the power you're applying and the 40g is able to withstand that power and "gently" heat up slow enough to allow for the pyrogen to ignite rather than ignite all at once. There honestly might be an easier way to trouble shoot this, but my suggestion is incorporate a secondary resistor into the shooting wire. Start with smaller values and work up. See how much added resistance it takes to allow for proper ignition. If you're going to plan on using the 50g match heads as well as the 40g heads in the future you might want to buy some cable splicers such as the ones below and have a few sets of shooting with that will have the best valued resistor that you found above spliced into your shooting wire simply for your 50g heads. I know that's a lot and again, there might even be an easier way to do it but this is just my 2 centshttp://www.buyheatshrink.com/heatshrinktubing/Pics/Splices.jpg Edited by BlastFromThePast

You might want to try putting a more flame producing pyrogen, such as BP or BP with metals, over the top. This will help propagate the flame, as well as reduce some of the direct sensitivity of the match head.