APC Forum

Goex 4f Lift and burst charge

Psycodelic

Hello, first of all im sorry if this is in the wrong section, i cant find the beginners area. I'm new to this, i just finished my first batch of stars which turned out very well, i dont have a ball mill so i dont think i can make suitable bp that will work, all ive seen is skylighters red gum bp which i dont no much about. I've been doing a lot of reading trying to get everything right but I'm just not sure about what to do here. So basically my question is, I just purchased goex 4f powder and I'm wondering if this will work for lifting and breaking my shells? If not, then any suggestions would be great, thanks.

Hey, making your own bp is where it becomes fun. You CAN make decent bp without a mill. But if you are serious, you need to find a mill (homemade, harbor freight , or pro). To answer the Q. yes you can use Geox bp to do it all. 4f is not pyro 4f. You want cannon grade , or a very course powder. The 4f rifle powder is going to slam your shells and over break them.

The skylighter bp is fair. You need a coffee mill, and individually mill each chem to a talk fine powder. screen this several times through a kitchen colander , wet it with 5% dextrin added , or use the red gum method. I prefer the dextrin due to cost and easy access to materials. You can make your own dextrin. Rub this putty through a course screen like you find on small cages or construction grade mesh for drains, vents etc.( 1/4"). let dry for several days on a drying screen. You also can use the screened meal powder to coat rice hulls or crispies instead of making granulated powder.