APC Forum

Strobe/flasher help

loaded4bear

Hi Guys:

I'm fairly new at this and would like some help with strobe/flasher comps and technique. I have my star roller working well and have sucessfully made simple star color transitions for 3" and 4" ball shells. I would like work up a TT with a strobe/flasher finish. No problem with the TT but info on the web is kinda scarce on strobe efx. Could you all share some of your expirtise, formulas, and anything special that I need to know before I fire up the roller (ok bad choice of words!). I have also seen a crackling-sparkling effect at the end of the burst. Would love some help with that as well. Thanks. This is a great forum.

It`s not that difficult so make white strobe stars, I used this forumla with success:

Barium Nitrate .................51

Potassium Nitrate ............7

Sulfur ..............................19

Magnalium ......................18 (60 to 100 Mesh)

Dextrin ............................5

Just make them not too big, the burning time is quite long. For TT to white strobe I recommend about

6mm star diameter. A hot prime is also very useful, BP with silicon should do well.

Greets

Edited by PyroCube

Awesome. Thanks, that is one I can try. I even have those components. I have 3 different magalums - I never seem to have the right mesh size. Do you guys screen out what you don't need or will that damage a screen. I want to try Wilkonur 20 that calls for 200 mesh Magalum. I have 200-325 mesh (from HCS). What do you think?

Awesome. Thanks, that is one I can try. I even have those components. I have 3 different magalums - I never seem to have the right mesh size. Do you guys screen out what you don't need or will that damage a screen. I want to try Wilkonur 20 that calls for 200 mesh Magalum. I have 200-325 mesh (from HCS). What do you think?

Any Mg/Al 200-325 mesh will work.

I just got through making some Blessers White Strobe, easiest comp that i have made so far.