APC Forum

Fireworks Accident !

jaysgoh

That's intense, hopefully no one was seriously hurt.

I'm no pro, but I'd say 4in shells by the looks, just a guesstimation ofcourse.

i am 16 , its bigger than my paml size . i mean the size of the shells .

fireworks are illegal in my country

but we still can bought some .

Some definitely look like 4" to me. Others look like 3", but they could just be inferior 4" shells.

A lot of them are boosted with Flash powder, so yes. You can tell from the bright flash on the first frame or two after they burst.

Other ones I'm not sure. I expect that they are a bit of a mix, as Chinese shells are.

Most of the time they are KP type burst, that is, just Potassium perchlorate, Charcoal, a binder and perhaps sulfur.

Also quite common is for them to be Black powder burst with a small amount of flash powder added. For a 4" shell, anything from 2g to 6g is appropriate. More and it becomes obscene.

I expect that they use other burst charges too. I've seen a few formulas of kind of hybrids, where there is an oxidiser and metals (Magnalium and/or Aluminium) with charcoal, sulfur and a binder. I've dissected 4" shells that definitely had a formula containing both MgAl and charcoal coated on to rice hulls.

While I've never heard definite cases of Chinese shells containing other bursts (except perhaps Potassium chlorate burst, often referred to as H3 (ten parts KClO3 to 3 parts hemp charcoal to be exact) even if they do not match that description), they do exist. Potassium perchlorate can be added to various fuels from lampblack to various other reactive organics.

Whistle mix used to boost Black powder is also quite popular in the hobby world. In small shells (or Bombettes, inserts, are they really shells? ) up to about 1.5" can be burst with pure whistle or flash.

Of course, with decent black powder you can get a decent burst without boosting it. Some of the smaller looking shells in that video could be achieved with just BP burst.