APC Forum

An easy way to make 'Dragon Flowers'

BengalFlair

I've been working on dragon-flower for a couple of years and the last year I've got some success and I'm happy as well.

At first, my aim was to get such a composition which ensure louder single pop, less smolder phase and easily ignite with BP prime. I used lead tetra oxide as bismuth compounds are very much expensive and not easily available here .Wasting lot of chemicals in the long run I found a composition which works great to me. Then I added various mesh and proportion of FeTi to that composition and after some trial and error sessions, I finally got that amazing effect. The composition is as follows:-

• Lead tetra oxide (Pb3O4) 70 % (toxic!)
  • Black Copper Oxide (CuO) 12.5 %
  • MgAl (50\50) 9.5 % (-200mesh)
  • MgAl (35\65) 8 % (-200mesh)
  • FeTi (30\70) +15% (50-120mesh)
  • PBNC (10%) +20 %( no pyro grade NC available here)

I kneaded the composition with lacquer to make like dough and flattened it about 2mm thick with my gloved palm. Waited a while and pushed through a 10 mesh screen. Granules were 10-12 mesh, primed with green mix and thinly coated with a metal added charcoal streamer composition, with a light final touch of bp. I think it'll help you guys. Any feedback is welcomed.

Here is a video which I made last year.

http://youtu.be/ikhNJnprKOc

• Like 2

I have made up your formula today and pressed through a 10# screen initial tests on a dry mix gave a very nice effect, my nitro was not made with PB? I take it that is ping pong balls? Any way I have a batch made just waiting for the NC to dry fully will let you know how it go’s but like I said initial indications show promise thank you for sharing the formula Regards Mia

@ BengalFlair, first i want to complement you for your nice detailed post! Definitely going to try you formula! Thanks for sharing.

#bengalflair: those dragon eggs look very good!