APC Forum

Job, career, education in foreign countries

50AE

This is country works this way - you are smart, you get smashed. You want to develop, everyone tells you how stupid you are. I can talk about it all night.

My hope is to go in a foreign country to study or to work, or both, because I can't study without working. Somewhere where I can practice what I dream of - pyro. Somewhere I can really learn something useful. Here the educational system is complete bullshit.

Now I work as a SFX pyro in cinema, but it's not reliable about income. There are not always movies, I have to sit doing nothing for months sometimes.

What I ask for, is your advice, where and can I develop myself in the foreign, start working and eventually doing a career. If you know what I mean :)

You have to deal with immigration issues that would prevent you from doing or following your dreams. There are all kinds of hurdles immigration agencies put in place to stop foreigners and only certain jobs or preferred, or more like certain jobs, particularly unskilled jobs have absolutely no possibility of immigration.

EU is difficult in that you need a skill that doesn't exist in the EU to qualify for a work visa.

Also you will find that your freedom doesn't necessarily improve by being in other countries. Also, America has their tentacles of influence in so many countries that they practically tell them what laws to pass.

He already is an EU citizen, so it's considerably easier for him to work in another EU-country than for a non-EU citizen.

But yes, the grass is not always greener on the other side. When I was a kid I admired America, because I thought it was like in the movies. Today I realize that that was an illusion. In most respects except gun-ownership they have less freedom than Europe. It's even extremely hard to get into America as a tourist compared to other countries.

Edited by Potassiumchlorate