APC Forum

Rocket Tooling - Spindle Material?

btdk34

I am just beginning to scratch the surface of making my own rocket tooling. I am currently working on a 2 ounce (3/8" ID) tooling set, and have finished the base which is made out of 6061 aluminum. I am working on the spindle next, but am unsure of what material to use. I have heard that aluminum is pretty flexible when using such small diameters (3/16") and from my experience, it isn't very scratch resistant. I have also heard that 303 stainless would be a good spindle choice. However, I don't have any experience turning 303 stainless steel on a lathe, and I have heard it is difficult. I've also heard brass is a good spindle choice! Is it less flexible than aluminum, and how scratch resistant is it? Keep in mind that I will be making very small spindles (~3/16" diameter, 2" length).

Looking forward to learning some new information :)

Edited by btdk34

If you want to save some time on making the spindles, you could use a taper pin.

They are available in stainless steel, plain base or threaded base style.

WWGrainger and McMaster Carr sells them for very little money.

They make them in different lengths and different diameters.

You can use a taper reamer to drill the hole in the base to accept the taper of the plain base pin.

You can buy the taper reamers on Ebay for about $10.00 ea.

WWGrainger also has stainless steel spacers that can be used to center the rocket tube onto.

For the tool base I am using a stainless steel blind piping flange.

If you use a threaded base taper pin you would need to drill and tap threads in the base for the pin.

#4 Stainless Steel Taper Pin = $10.00

1/2" Diameter SS Spacer = $5.00

3/4" SS Blind Flange = $8.00 (clearance sale)

You would still need to make your ramming rods.

Mikeee

• Like 1