APC Forum

Are there any rocket mixes using perchlorate?

speditty

I only have perchlorate as an oxidizer left and still have left over sulfur, charcoal, and some aluminum granular - only really good for adding silver sparks. Is there any rocket compostions that I could make with those that would work alright, or do I need to buy some other chemicals? I am new to this hobby, I have an old rock quarry I use to test and shoot off all these rockets and other fireworks I have made. any help would be great since I have no experience in making these. Thanks

post-13309-0-69444900-1342129065_thumb.jpg

Do you have a press?

And for common rocket fuels, you'll need some other chems too.

Edited by nater

I only have perchlorate as an oxidizer left and still have left over sulfur, charcoal, and some aluminum granular - only really good for adding silver sparks. Is there any rocket compostions that I could make with those that would work alright, or do I need to buy some other chemicals? I am new to this hobby, I have an old rock quarry I use to test and shoot off all these rockets and other fireworks I have made. any help would be great since I have no experience in making these. Thanks

Sorry man but I am only able to find whistle fuel that uses perc in it and you don't have the benzoate that is needs. I really suggest that you buy some potassium nitrate to make rockets with. In the USA, DUDA Diesel carries it for an OK price.

-dag

I once tried KCLO3/sugar (sorry not KCLO4 but may be similar?) in about 70/30 ratio in a small bottle rocket. Without a nozzle, not enough thrust to get more than about 3 feet off the ground (it hovered there in fact before it tipped over and came at me!), and with a bit of a nozzle like constriction it CATO'ed, so seemed a bit touchy to me, but maybe a mix with less oxidiser would calm it down. There's also a perchlorate black powder mix on pyro guide if you take a look there. No idea how it performs though