APC Forum

BP rocket problem

superspike23

hi all

I have a problem with my test rockets with black powder. I use a brown paper rolled tube of 10 cm long internal diameter is 1.5 cm bentonite is the nozzle 4 mm in diameter and 2 cm height. I drilled 2 cm in the black powder. Here are two videos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubc_hfRNgyU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peBGO797wew

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mf2h1mUqyg

Edited by superspike23

The core needs to be longer. If you only drilled a little ways into the BP anything above the core you drilled will act like a Delay charge and blow up. What's the ratio of the BP you're using? Edited by The504

well i cant really watch videos on this damned phone.also im not the smartest wih stars and all that other good stuff.but i have been making rockets for a few years lol. Could u please explain to me whats going on?like are they blowing up,not flying straight,or not lifting off as fast or slow as you would like?i think i may beable to help u out on this..also are you using meal powder or granulated black powder?it makes a difference fro my experience

well a larger core certainly won't fix CATOs... try a longer bentonite nozzle, widen the aperture a little. you're ramming in increments, right?

I press the black powder using a hammer and a round piece of wood. I make black powder in my ball mill. per 200 grams of black powder, I use 150 g KNO3, 30 g of charcoal for bbq and 20 grams of sulfur. I let run the ball mill 5 hours. All my rockets explode. The nozzle bentonite does not support the pressure.

Traditional core burners use a formula closer to 60 KNO3 30 Charcoal 10 Sulfur. It sounds like your fuel is too fast.

With your remaining fast milled fuel, drill a shorter core into the rocket, and see if that reduces CATOs.

The core needs to be longer. If you only drilled a little ways into the BP anything above the core you drilled will act like a Delay charge and blow up. What's the ratio of the BP you're using?