APC Forum

Is pass fire worth it?

roketman21

Is pass fire worth paying 50$ to join? I'm pretty new to all of this, but I know a few of you here are members thats why I am asking. I just want your opinion of course.

Yes and no. In my opinion it's worth it to join once, to get access to the archives and many years of past posts, but not much useful stuff goes on there nowadays compared to (for example) here, though if you ask a sensible question you (usually) get an informative answer. In general you could have looked it up yourself if you had the books, but Passfire is cheaper than a pyro library. On the plus side, one payment tends to last a long time, as Kyle spends way more time raging about politics than producing the magazine that you paid for, and your membership is for a certain number of issues.

The group buys and occasional special sales also are nice.

I enjoy it there personally. As Peret said, there is a lot of excellent information there. The search function is no longer nearly as useful as it once was, which can make getting to this information challenging sometimes. There are occasionally some conflicts and arguments there. If you can keep a cool head generally you'll be fine. It certainly is a valuable resource if you can ignore the BS.

The previous replies summed it up pretty well. In my opinion PF has seen it's hayday. You can get just as much feedback from questions asked on this board. There is a formula DB but it is not copyrighted and they are all available with some searching elsewhere. What you mainly have is a a conglomeration of ego's trying to one up each other. $50 is still cheap entertainment and there is some knowledge to be gained. Plus you may save more than that developing contacts for chem buys.

Let me add that some of the political discussions and BS are ethnically sensitive. If you are a minority you probably would not be welcome.

Edited by MikeB

Worth 50 USD?